Hello WordPress

I’ve been a longtime xangan, and as such, the numerous myriad riffraffs of postings scattered across my xanga archives are a glimpse into the journey that I’ve taken to get to where I am today. Through the rabble, there’s some posts of great joy, other entries of immense sorrow, and nearly everything between the extended gamut can be found there, at least for events pertaining to my life, and then some. March 2004 is 8 years and 8 months ago (or as I’m fond of doing, expanding that into showing that it’s been 104 months or 3211 days since my xanga’s inception), and in that long span of time, I’ve gone from middle school, high school, college, and now post-collegiate life. Along with the various changes in my life, I’ve also seen xanga attempt to keep up with times through various tweaks and changes here and there. But ultimately, after some mulling over (and various entries that were WIPs that failed to have any autosave), I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s about time to move onto a platform that offers much more in a simpler interface.

It’s not the first time I’ve opened up a new blog at a new site. Apparently, I’ve an old blog already w/ wordpress; it was the precursor to my blogger account, the purpose of which was to host my random collections of prose and stories I hammered out in my spare time. It was a pleasant surprise, almost like stumbling upon an old shoebox filled with past memories, drawing me back into the whens and whys of my writings, and making me pine for a schmidgen of both the past and my past ability to plaster thoughts to paper. Maybe I’ll be able to get back into it one day; but at least for now, I think the task of setting up a new home here at wordpress should keep me occupied for now.  (I’ve also had some dabbling w/ tumblr, but dear god, that was a cesspool of which I’ve no desire to rejoin.) I’m really excited about the prospect of starting anew here at wordpress, after seeing how clean and great the site and layout is, relative to what I’ve got going on at xanga (I’m still using an old xanga CLAF format as opposed to their newer themes based one because of various reasons). There’s not even a simple functional way to export xanga entries into an .xml file for import into wordpress. So I’m not even going to bother with that.

One of my friends recently asked about opening a new blog; namely, at which site should she give her allegiance to. Her only stipulation was that xanga not be one of the options, owing to her past entries showing just how ridiculous she was. To which I replied that that was the reason I was holding onto xanga, that all the old silly posts I made from then til now show me how far I’ve come (or haven’t). I guess it’s ironic that, after somewhat trying to defend my rationale for remaining on the outdated platform, I’ve decided to uproot myself over to wordpress. I do think this is a good change though. Perhaps breaking away from that which I’ve been so accustomed to will allow me to explore new avenues of expressing my thoughts and feelings. This feeling has no empirical evidence backing it, but I feel that, by nature of being on wordpress, the level and quality of my entries has to improve from which it was over at xanga. There’s really no rhyme or reason behind it, but there it is.

At the end of the day, I think I count maybe 4 or 5 people who still somewhat regularly update their xangas with posts. I’ll miss that small sense of camaraderie that may or may not have existed; knowing that we were the last few holdouts from the heydays of xanga, where everyone and their mom actively perused the frantic activity on the site. But now, I’m just but another number to bite the dust. Here’s hoping for brighter days ahead.

Leave a Reply

