Nexus 4

I love my tech. I’m a total geek when it comes to getting new gadgets and toys and whatnot (typical guy? lulz). It used to be somewhat difficult to stay on top of things because, as a kid, I’d be able to hear and read and follow tech news about the latest and newest, but would never really have any realistic chance of actually owning the flavor of the month (year, I guess). My cell phone path, of which I can remember, went from a Sony Ericsson w810 -> SE k850 // Aug 2008 -> Blackberry Curve 8900 // March 2010 -> T-mobile G2 (HTC Vision/Desire Z) // Jan 2011 -> LG Nexus 4 // Dec 2012. My G2 was really starting to show its age, seeing as how its 512 MB of RAM just wasn’t cutting it. It took a lot of patience to continually work with the phone, and in the end, I just had to make the jump over to the N4 w/ its 2 GB of RAM. Dang. Addt’l pros include a slim phone, 2100 mAh battery, and Google’s Nexus branding. Cons are non-removable battery, no SD card slot (16 GB internal), glass back, 4.7″ screen (just feels too large/awkward in my hand at times), and a soso camera. I left out the largest “pro” though: $350 price tag (after tax and s/h, it came out to just shy of $400, but, for a brand-spanking-new unlocked pentaband phone? I think currently, there are only 2 or 3 devices on the market that are top notch specs with pentaband radios.

Lil tangent, sorta-but-not-really. Pentaband is great/important b/c T-mobile here in the US is the lone awkward company that uses the 1700/2100 MHz (AWS) band. Worldwide, most cellular companies operate on the 850/1900 MHz band (At&t does so as well). BUT. T-mobile has been slowly rolling out new 4G networks onto their 1900 MHz band, so previous At&t phones (aka all the iPhone users) can now use T-mobile interwebz. For better or worse.

With that said, the hope of this phone is that it’ll be somewhat future proof down the road. What with the pentaband radio and the 2 GB of RAM, I’m hoping the evolving technology doesn’t leave me too far out in the cold. The N4 also boasts the market’s strongest chipset that’s currently available with the Adreno 320 GPU and APQ8064 quad-core processor. When comparing the features against the pricing, the N4 is certainly an attractive specimen. Not the mention the Nexus branding assures timely updates as Google rolls out new versions of Android. I mean, the N4 is currently one of three devices running the latest Android version Jellybean 4.2.1. (The others being the Nexus 7 and Nexus 10.) So from a geek perspective, I’m really stoked about where I am right now.

Did I mention the beautiful (but seemingly dangerous and potentially fragile) glass back? Check this beauty out. (That’s currently covered with a case on my phone)

Image taken from The Verge. Read their full review of the Nexus 4 here.

I’ve also unlocked the bootloader, rooted my phone, and installed a custom ROM and kernel on my phone, on the night it arrived (there goes the warranty?) (All links are to xda Nexus 4 forums). There was a  1 hour period where my phone was stuck on the “Google” splash screen, and it would occasionally progress into the quad-colored nexus “X” logo and get stuck there. Man was that a frightening situation. There’s also the terrible issue of product launch/handling/shipping fiasco on Google’s part which seemingly hasn’t made many headlines. I’m glad that’s behind me now though.

And this was not a review. This was just my geeking out about a new phone and having a new toy to play with. Lulz.

Leave a Reply

