Something need doing?

I’m really grateful to have a job and be able to fall into the routine of work, but in the past 7 months, it’s been a struggle to maintain a balance between work and health.

As the opportunities arise, I often agree to take on additional hours at my per diem (on call/as needed) job, from intiially 2 addt’l hours  on top of my 8 to this last week, where I’ve been taking on 4.5 addt’l hours on top of my regular job. There was a point last week where I left the house before the parents are got home after them.

And no lie, when the paycheks come in, it’s a fantastic feeling (knowing that I bumped up my annual income >50% for that pay period). But when you leave the house before 7am and get home after 8pm, it doesn’t leave you much time for anything else.

I don’t mind the long hours (as I do occasionally get some down time on the clock), but I just feel drained when I get home and still have to cook dinner/lunch for the next day. Not to mention the fact that I haven’t had a chance to go running in the past few weeks with my 60+ hr work weeks. I mean, I technically still have time at 8pm to run, but, after cooking and tryna get things done before the 10pm bedtime, I just don’t want to. Which comes back to my being lazy, of course. (But what’s new).

On top of all that, I’m still in salary negotiations for possibly picking up weekend PRN work. Trying to get a <20% hourly raise, whereas they opened with a ~15% offer.

I usually look forward to the weekends to sleep in (which only takes me to about 9am now as a result of all my early waking on the weekdays), but we’re headed out of town these next two weekends. Aka I’ve already got the 24th circled for sleeping in.

Gotta make dat $$$ tho. As Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “Today is the oldest you’ve ever been, and the youngest you’ll ever be.” So might as well put all that knowledge and youthful energy to work eh?

Leave a Reply

